LumiLens: Everyone’s Getting Married

The first of many! LumiLens will be my series of reviews on music videos, movies, and dramas. Let’s begin, shall we?

I’ve been a fan of the Japanese band ‘flumpool’ for almost a decade. I remember stumbling across their song 花になれ years ago, and I fell in love instantly. Since then, I don’t think I can recall a single song of theirs that I didn’t like. They have a very timeless sound, one that’s fit for numerous moods and occasions. I admit, I have a crush on their lead Ryuta Yamamura. With his classic looks and distinct voice, I wasn’t surprised to find out that he was the leading man in this drama.

Everyone’s Getting Married (突然ですが、明日結婚します) directed by Michiko Namiki is the live action adaptation of the manga with the same title by Izumi Miyazono. I confess, I haven’t read the manga. I’ve been out of touch with any reading for a while (aside from ‘Tales of the Unusual’ which I read to satisfy some dark side of mine), but after watching the first couple of episodes, I might just find a reason to start up again.

This drama follows Asuka, a dedicated banker, who dreams of getting married and being a housewife just like her mother. Upon chance, she meets Ryu, a seemingly cold-hearted show host who refuses to get married. After the breakup with her boyfriend of five years (how dare he), Asuka finds herself being chased after by Ryu, though he still insists that marriage is not for him.

Everyone is waiting on episode 7, and while I’m only on episode 2, I’m already hooked. Aside from being able to watch Ryuta outside of a music video, Mariya Nishiuchi makes her character very relate-able, so it’s easy to see her point of view on this. On the other hand, Ryu’s view on marriage is very reasonable as well. This drama definitely makes one think about his or her goals in life regarding marriage. Especially at my age when you start to realize that in five years or so, I’ll either be married, working, or both. I’m a hopeless romantic, and it’s pretty obvious that Asuka is, too. But for Ryu, who’s damaged from another very realistic situation, it looks like he knows what he wants even though it might contradict his views.

“An old love came to an end, and a new period of my life started.” – Ryu

That might not be an exact quote, but, for me, this stood out a lot. Many young adults my age are either in a relationship, lonely for company, or too focused on their careers for anything else. In my opinion, one always leads to another. This drama was definitely what I needed, and I can’t wait to keep watching.

頑張って!

3 thoughts on “LumiLens: Everyone’s Getting Married

Leave a Reply

